Top Books I want to read in 2017

My  goal for 2017 on the Goodreads Challenge is 50 books, which is significantly smaller than the number I aspired to in 2016. However, my desire this year is to read more quality texts, in all genres possible, and perhaps have an average rating of 4 this year, in contrast to previous times, where it was below that line, quite liberally.  So here is a list of all those books, stand-alones and sequels, that will hopefully help me fulfill the challenge. May the odds be with us! 

IN POETRY: 
Grief Is the Thing with Feathers by Max Porter, a story about two boys and their father dealing with grief after the death of their mother. Sort of a spiritual sequel to Ted Hughes’ poetry.
Even this Page is White by Vivek Shraya, a collection of skin tone, and what is like to be racialized by the amount of melanin one has.
Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine, a short and quick study of race in America, of the unintentional racism people are raised with and the very real, intentional racism people face in everyday life.
Born Palestinian, Born Black by Suheir Hammad. I’ve never read a collection that deals with being Palestinian in the current climate, this will be my first foray. 


IN PLAYS AND SHORT STORIES
The Children’s Hour by Lillian Hellman, where kids might just permanently ruin the lives of two women, a power play on what rumours can do.
Angels in America by Tony Kushner, a play detailing what it was like being gay in the 80s and 90s in America.
The Seer by Ali Smith, a couple so bored with their lives, that they both go along pretending that the lady that shows up claiming to be the sister of the wife, truly is the sister. 

IN NON-FICTION 
Freedom Is a Constant Struggle: Ferguson, Palestine, and the Foundations of a Movement by Angela Y. Davis, hopefully will do exactly what it says on the subtitle, a brief explanation of the struggle for freedom, a struggle that may nevver end.
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander. After the BlackLivesMatter movement rose this year, my desire to learn more about institutionalized racism has only grown, this is a book that will provide me with much of the information on what plagues the black community in America.
An Indigenous Peoples’ History of the United States by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz. To my knowledge, the first (and only?) book that details the story of America through the eyes of the Indigenous people that lived here before the settlers. 

IN GENERAL FICTION
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz has been on my list since I first heard about it, but for some reason I keep putting it off, this year has to be the year I read it. The Vegetarian by Han Kang. A South Korean woman decides to renounce meat after her dream are plagued with blood, and then the horror truly begins. 

IN SCIENCE-FICTION AND FANTASY
Mort, Small Gods, and Going Postal by Terry Pratchett. With the Death of Sir Pratchett, my desire to finally finish his Discworld series has grown, and these short series within the big series are all I need to read in order to complete the saga.
This Savage Song and A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab. When I read her Archived series, I was simply indifferent to her writing, but once I finished Vicious, everything I saw she was out with, was added to my list, and so far they have not disappointed me.
Blue Lily, Lily Blue and The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater are the continuation of her Raven Cycle series (with the second book being a magnificent piece). I am finally excited to continue on and see where she will take these characters. 

IN COMICS
Kill or Be Killed, Volume One by Ed Brubaker, Sean Phillips, and Elizabeth Breitweiser. The Brubaker and Phillips team has been good to me throughout the years, always providing me with incredible stories and fascinating art, their new book will be just as amazing. The story of a man who must kill or he will die, and how this situation affects his relationship with people around him.
Green Lanterns, Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, Nightwing, Detective Comics, and Green Arrow, all by different people are on my list. After the incredible event that was DC Rebirth, these heroes have taken a new meaning to me, the legacies that were erased have been reborn, and I cannot wait to see more of what they can do.
The Stone Heart by Faith Erin Hicks, the sequel to The Nameless City, is something I did not know would exist. I expected the previous comic to be a stand-alone, but now, I could not imagine the story without a sequel. We follow two kids, in a city of many names and none at all, and how colonialism rules the place.
Chew, Saga, Paper Girls, East of West, Lazarus, Nailbiter, Deadly Class, Sex Criminals, Bitch Planet, ODY-C, Monstress, and Descender, all have current volumes out I’ve yet to read, or the volumes are coming out in 2017, and I cannot wait to continue on with the stories, they have all been too good.
Ms. Marvel, Spider-Man, Moon Knight, Black Widow, and  Star Wars all will continue with new issues and volumes out this year, and since they are some of the only good things Marvel is shooting out in comics recently, I cannot wait to continue to see the good quality remain.

Are any of these on your list? What are your must-reads of 2017?

Leave a Reply

