Why I #FeelTheBern and You Should Too

Come gather ’round people
Wherever you roam
And admit that the waters
Around you have grown
And accept it that soon
You’ll be drenched to the bone
If your time to you
Is worth savin’
Then you better start swimmin’
Or you’ll sink like a stone
For the times they are a-changin’.

– Bob Dylan’s “The Times They Are A-Changin”

A few days ago, in my home state of Nevada, we had the caucus elections for the Democratic Party, and I was at the edge of my seat to see the results. Why? Because I belong to the “class” now known as Millennial. I am a college student, I am middle-class, I am a Cuban immigrant, I am a part of a religious minority, I am a woman, and according to Baby Boomers, my generation is an embarrassment to the American community, because we all want free stuff and cannot stop playing with our phones. This meaning that a small group holding the political power finds it amusing to put a category on the most diverse generation in American history, and then create a bunch of blatant and uneducated statements, putting them down in order to make themselves feel better about ruining the economy, creating the biggest disparity in American economics, and living in the civil rights time where certain lives don’t matter and women should still not be able to make decisions. Belonging to this group has made me even more politically active than the other generations expected, because now I am more aware of how others see me, and what I can do to change it. Voting has an impact, we can change the course of history with votes. And that is why I wanted Bernie to win the delegates in my state, which he did, but not as much as Clinton won. 

These are the five main reasons I support Bernie over Hilary and every other candidate running to be elected this campaign: 

  1. Bernie has supported LGBTQ+ people (since the early 80’s) and equal rights for women and racial minorities since before the beginning of his political career. Yes, other candidates have supported Don’t Ask Don’t Tell, including Clinton, many politicians have only changed their view because they know that in order to get votes they have to change from their narrow minded view. Bernie did not support it, making it clear in an incident where a Congressman claimed “homosexuals are disgusting, ” and he stood up and said such a thing was not okay.   He was also seen protesting in 1963, not many politicians can say they fought for civil rights when the Civil Rights Act was enacted, Bernie can. 
  2. He voted against the Wall Street Bailout, no other of the candidates (to my knowledge) did. Tax money, from people like you and me, was used to bail out corporations who get themselves in the mess in the first place. I guess that’s what happens when you repel Glass–Steagall. 
  3. Sanders voted against the war in Iraq and the Patriot Act. A war in which there was no true reason since no weapons were actually found, and an act that is used today to spy on citizens. 
  4. He does not take money from Super PACs. His donations come from everyday people, who want to see change in the world, and have a president that will represent them, instead of being owned by third parties with their own agendas. 
  5. He does not flip or change for political gains, he stands his ground. Throughout this campaign we have seen candidates change their “values” and “opinions” in order to get votes, from claiming their support for equal rights, to stating differing views on immigration policy. Bernie has always stood his ground when it comes to those issues, having a firm belief. His support of minorities has never wavered, nor his views on capital punishment, and the drug war. 

I am tired of the current system, of having banks own us, of having to have the tag #BlackLivesMatter because some people do not think that they do, of having women’s health and Planned Parenthood attacked by people that know nothing of it, of having my religion questioned and becoming an other, of being allowed in America because of my group but having other immigrants denied entry, of having older generations blame mine for the economic situations they put us in in the first place, of people denying scientific facts to fit into their political agenda instead of realizing the harm it will cause the world, of having reduced scientific research but an increase spending on military, of having education be valued extremely but treat people seeking it as if it is a luxury only those selected few that can afford it should have. I am tired of my opinion being seen as invalid because I am younger, as if the future will not be made of me and people like me, as if they are to always remain in power. I am fighting back, for my future, the future of my friends and loved ones, and the future of the coming generations. 

I am ready for a political revolution. Are you? 

 

Leave a Reply

