Crimson Peak: Tom Hiddleston is hot but…. | Film Review

★★★/★★★★★ Crimson Peak directed by Guillermo del Toro.

Trailer. 

Okay, so a bunch of people have seen Pan’s Labyrinth right? Almost all those that have seen it love it, I am sadly not one of those. I did like it, but not loved it, same with this film. I am sorry Guillermo del Toro.

This is considered a Gothic romance horror, with an emphasis on the Gothic romance, which was downright disappointing. I am one of those people that cannot watch scary films, but the moment I saw this trailer I wanted to watch it, hoping I would be scared out of my pants but still be able to sleep at night with one eye open and another closed, yet all I got was me falling sleep withing seconds of lying on the bed. Bad marketing and promoting. Don’t lie to me!!!

This follows  Edith Cushing, the daughter of Carter Cushing, wealthy American businessman. After her mother dies she comes back as a ghost to tell her: “beware of Crimson Peak.” A few years later she is infatuated by  Sir Thomas Sharpe, and things ensue. 

I asked my friends to tell me the issues and what they liked apart from the horrible marketing, this is what we collectively agreed on:

1-Visuals and props and set: This film could be a series of photographs and I would sit there fascinated for hours just looking at the colour, or the texture, or simply the house. This felt like it was set in Victorian England and the United States at same time (late 1800′s if you wondering),  every costume and piece of architecture was on point, or as far as I can tell since I am not an expert. Just look at pictures on line and see if you like.

2-Dialogue: “ A house as old as this one becomes, in time, a living thing. It starts holding onto things… keeping them alive when they shouldn’t be. Some of them are good; some of them bad… Some should never be spoken about again. “I loved it! It was a very well-written tale, not plot wise, which I’ll talk about later, but in language. Whenever I see a film by Del Toro, I am fascinated by his dialogue, even if his plot leaves something to be desired, his ease with language always almost makes up for lack of character development or story.

Lucille Sharpe: [Looking at the dead butterflies] They’re dying. They take the heat from the sun, and when it deserts them, they die.
Edith Cushing: How sad.
Lucille Sharpe: No, it’s not sad, Edith. It’s nature. It’s a world of everything dying and eating each other right beneath our feet.
Edith Cushing: Surely there’s more to it than that.
Lucille Sharpe: [Looking at Edith] Beautiful things are fragile… At home we have only black moths. Formidable creatures, to be sure, but they lack beauty. They thrive on the dark and cold.
Edith Cushing: What do they feed on?
Lucille Sharpe: Butterflies, I’m afraid.

3- The acting was spot on: Such an amazing ensemble, and they delivered the characters with finesse, saving the film from drowning.

  • Mia Wasikowska as Edith Cushing. I have seen Mia on Alice in Wonderland and Jane Eyre and have loved her. So as soon as I saw she was on this film I expected it to be a masterpiece. Sadly it wasn’t but she was great here. She delivers the innocence of a girl at the time, but the cunning and mouth she needs to survive in such a world nonetheless.  Her naivety was boring at times, particularly when she is being courted by Sharpe, but in the end she did redeem herself.
  • Jessica Chastain as Lady Lucille Sharpe. I have only seen her inMama and I was not amused by that film, hence she was not on my radar. But as she portrayed this crazy person I saw her talent, now I like her, a lot. This creature is wicked, an expert manipulator, a liar, and every time she delivered. I hated her character, but I have to appreciate it.
  • Tom Hiddleston as Sir Thomas Sharpe. LOKI!!!! He is Loki, he is beautiful and perfect in every way, but here he felt a bit flat, at least until the middle point. He was a basic hero with not much depth by himself, at least that is how he seems, until he becomes an odd antihero and we are finally told what he does in the dark.
  • Charlie Hunnam as Dr. Alan McMichael. I don’t think I ever expected to see him in a role that was not him kicking butt, like he did in Pacific Rim and Sons of Anarchy. Here he is more of a bookworm, and doctor, it was different, and although it was not my favourite role for him, it seemed necessary to have someone that was strong and nerdy at the same time to come and aid when necessary.
  • Jim Beaver as Carter Cushing. He is Bobby from Supernatural okay!!!! I cannot picture him in anything without thinking idjit, which his father-figure here was pretty accurate. A no-nonsense man that loves his daughter and will go to extreme lengths to protect him.
  • Burn Gorman as Mr. Holly. He s from Torchwood, and his character there was so deep that I adore him.
  • Doug Jones as  Ghosts of Edith’s Mother and The Dowager Lady Sharpe. We all know he is good at what he does.

4-Predictability: One of my friends that saw the film with me told the beginning of the film to another friend that has not seen it. She was able to guess almost everything that happened in the movie, including the big things. That just shows how predictable this is, or my friend is just extremely clever when it comes to movies. I was not surprised by the plot at all, I knew what was going to happen, which took from the experience, somehow Del Toro’s films lack the surprise factor, even his most original ideas.

5-The ghosts or supernatural: This was well done, as they were very different to what is usually portrayed. The ghost had very human features, which made them even more scary than regular ghosts. The colours chosen for each ghost, mostly her mother and the victims, black and red respectably, left a very good impression. This was the best aspect of the film.

6-Length: The film was almost 2 hours long, but to me it felt too rushed. Maybe it was because I knew what was to happen, but the ending left me desiring for more. I was left unsatisfied and yearning, which I hate. I’ll just have to deal with it, but I don’t like it.

Yes, I gave some criticism, but go and watch it, but make sure you go watch it at a theater were it costs less than ten dollars, because so far, not worth more, a book would provide more time of pleasure for same money.

Leave a Reply

